Hikawa Kiyoshi – Ochiba shigure

氷川きよし ・落ち葉しぐれ

The link is a record by the original singer,  三浦洸一. I couldn’t find this particular song sung by Hikawa Kiyoshi on youtube. However, I’ll link this interwiew with him which features parts of 三 味線旅がらす(one of his original songs I think) so you can get an impression of what his voice is like. I must say I like Hikawa’s version better, it’s not dragging so much… might be to the old recordings though. I don’t remember who I got this song from… (I should mention most of my music is some music friends gave to me so it always comes to me as a surprise). But I really like this song!

Lyrics:

♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊

旅の落ち葉が しぐれに濡れて  (たびのおちばが しぐれにぬれて)

流れ果てない ギター引き   (ながれはてない  ぎたぁひき)

望みも夢も はかなく消えて  (のぞみもゆめも はかなくきえて)

唄もなみだの 渡り鳥  (うたもなみだの わたりとり)

酒にやつれて 未練にやせて (さけにやつれて みれんにやせて)

男流れの ギター引き  (おとこながれの ぎたぁひき)

あの日も君も かえらぬものを (あのひもきみも かえらぬものを)

呼ぶな他国の 夜のかぜ (よぶなたこくの よるのかぜ)

暗い裏町 酒場の隅が  (くらいうらまち さかばのすみが)

せめてねぐらの ギター引き (せめてねぐらの ぎたぁひき)

灯かげもさみし 蛍光灯の  (とうかげもさみし けいこうとうの)

かげにしみじみ 独り泣く (かげにしみじみ ひとりなく)

♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊

Translation (just a very quick one)

♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊

The fallen leaves of the travellers way, wet from a sudden autumn rain shower

The the never-ceasing song of a playing guitar

Hopes and dreams are fading away

The song, too a wanderer of tears   (渡り鳥 actually means migrating bird, but also vagabond, wanderer)

Worn-out from the Sake, haggard from regret

the guitar play of drifting (wandering) men

this day too, you don’t return

the nightly breeze calling to distant lands

In the dark backstreets, the bar districts (area where there are many bars)

Just the guitar melody of my home

The light is also lonely… In the light of the fireflies

Crying lonely tears in their shine.

♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊ ♣ ◊

Please give your opinions on the translation. It’s not a verbatim translation really, it was difficult to match it with the lines at times and  it’s quite ambiguous. (Like apparently kage doesn’t only mean shadow, shade, silhouette but can also mean light)  I tried do get the meaning and mood across as I understood it. I really welcome suggestions how I could improve it!!!

Categories: Japan, Music, shuffle, Translation | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

